Susan Collins (b. 1964 London) works across public, gallery and online spaces employing transmission, networking and time as primary materials. Most of her work is made in response to specific sites and situations.

Key works include In Conversation;the BAFTA nominated Tate in Space, Tate Online (2002); Transporting Skies (2002) which transported sky (and other phenomena) live between Newlyn Art Gallery, Penzance in Cornwall and Site Gallery Sheffield in Yorkshire; Fenlandia (2004) and Glenlandia (2005) – live year long pixel by pixel internet transmissions from remote landscapes; The Spectrascope (2004-5), a live pixel by pixel transmission from a haunted house, Seascape a solo show for the De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea and short films including Love Brid, commissioned for Animate Projects’ ‘Coastcards’ (2009) and Wild Life (2016), commissioned by Tintype Gallery for Essex Road III.

Public commissions include Underglow (2005-6), a network of illuminated drains for the Corporation of London and Brighter Later (2013), a site specific light installation for the Radcliffe Observatory, Oxford driven by live weather data.
Recent works include Wembury & Woolacombe (2015), commissioned by the Royal Albert Memorial Museum, Exeter (RAMM) in association with the National Trust, and LAND (2017), a live transmission from Jerusalem looking across the West Bank towards the Jordanian mountains.

Susan Collins is currently Professor of Fine Art at the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London where she was Slade Professor and Director from 2010-18 and established the Slade Centre for Electronic Media in Fine Art (SCEMFA) in 1995.

Susan Collins is represented in Germany by Osterwalder’s Art Office, Hamburg, and selected prints are available through Edgework, London

click here to download current CV (165 KB) in PDF format

click here to visit Susan Collins on Facebook

click here to follow Susan Collins on Twitter

click here and here to follow Susan Collins on Instagram

This website was first designed by Martin John Callanan in 2007, and refreshed by Josh Nathanson in 2014 and Matt Jarvis in 2018